Worship Implies Intimacy

Copying from the latest Charisma Magazine “The Worship Issue” – p31. Up Close and Personal by Kari Jobe: “He inhabits our praises. Think about that. The God of all creation is moved by us, His children, when we worship. However, I’ve discovered that true worship is more than music or a song. At the heart of worship is the Lord’s desire for a relationship and communion with us. Another word to describe this would be intimacy”.

I loved how she wrote it. That the God of all creation is MOVED BY US when we worship. That sounds so very sweet. It makes me picture a daddy who is teary eyed and overjoyed when he watches his little toddler dancing and being silly and giggly before him as only cute toddlers can do. And he can’t have enough of his child. It reminded me of that time I was praying and sensed the Lord say this to me and I wrote it down:

“COME TO ME, MY DARLING BEAUTIFUL. I AM HERE AND I SMILE OVER YOU. YOU GIVE ME JOY. I CRAVE YOUR PRAISE. I CRAVE YOUR WORSHIP. THIS IS ME AND YOU. I WANT YOUR PRAISE AND WORSHIP. I LIVE IN YOUR PRAISE AND WORSHIP. WORSHIP ME. THIS IS YOUR LOVE EXPRESSED TO ME. THIS IS HOW I KNOW YOU LOVE ME. WORSHIP ME”.

From experience I have known that even to worship in spirit and in truth, we need the help of the Holy Spirit. I have been in awe when the Spirit of God worships through us and it flows in unknown songs or creative spoken words and it keeps going and you know it is not in your own ability. A real cool testimony of how the Spirit inspires our worship Himself is that one time when we were on the mission field in Costa Rica, I was one day in the spirit, worshipping and out of me started flowing this song with chorus and all as if I had known this song previously. I could hear all the instruments in my head. It was a song the Lord was signing to the lost. I kept singing and singing. And part of the chorus said “I am the Desire of the Nations”. I thought it was a weird line because I never heard of this term “Desire of the Nations” before nor that it is in the Bible. (You know how you can read the Bible for years and not notice something?) But I kept singing anyway what the Spirit had dropped into me to sing. Some time later I read this verse: “and I will shake all nations, and they shall come to the Desire of All Nations, and I will fill this temple with glory,’ says the Lord of hosts”. (Haggai 2:7 NKJV)

I pray we learn to desire Him as He desires us. That we crave intimacy with Him as He craves intimacy with us. I want to catch it and learn to worship in spirit and truth. I want to experience His glory and all it’s manifestations.

20130630-160316.jpg

One response

I welcome your comment...

