How to learn to journal

So, this is the whole heartbeat of my blog, about journaling and spending time with the Lord. Yes, everyday it may be a challenge to find that time or sometimes even to want to take that time, but it is the Lord Himself who draws us near to Him when we are open to Him.

I wrote a post yesterday on how to learn to journal for yourself. But I want to share that when I took this course, I was still full of doubt God would actually speak to me this way. So finally after straining for so long and trying and trying to hear something (maybe I was too nervous I was going to hear an audible voice, which is not impossible, but I guess I was secretly freaked out maybe, haha) I finally sensed that spontaneous thought saying “COME TO ME”… I thought, naaw, that’s my own thoughts, couldn’t be the Lord! But then I thought, the Lord WOULD say that! He invites all mankind to come to Him, so why not? After making myself more comfortable with the idea, I kept trying and for a while all the sentences started off with “COME TO ME” and then the rest would flow. I fell in love with journaling and hearing what He had to say daily. But yes, it was a mental challenge to trust it was legitimate. So, I would let my husband read them and verify if he believed it was the Lord. This process is so childlike, even children can learn how to journal. When I became confident in hearing God, I started teaching our little ones to journal too. Their spelling wasn’t right most of the time, but what they wrote was always right on! Scripture could back it up and I was always amazed at this since them being so little, they didn’t have Bible knowledge like we adults do. This proves that the Spirit of God speaks truth always.

As part of the training, I learned not to start off by asking drastic questions such as traumatic things that happened in life. Rather in the beginning, learn to hear what He has to say when you ask simple questions and get used to hearing first, such as ‘do you love me, Lord? What do you think of me? What would you like to share with me today?’… such simple questions. Later as you mature in the process you can ask anything since you are more confident in your ability to hear Him. This is so much fun and so intimate. And the ‘seeing’ Him will also come with it. Our Spiritual eyes can be opened to experience Him fully. I write more about ‘seeing with the eyes of our heart’ under the page: “About Visions”.

This was an entry from yesterday morning… enjoy.
“I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE STAYING WITH ME. I FEEL SO AT HOME WITH YOU. THIS IS ME, I HAVE COME TO COMMUNE WITH YOU IF YOU LET ME. I HAVE COME TO SPEND TIME WITH YOU. I HOPE YOU ARE AS EXCITED ABOUT THIS AS I AM ABOUT SPENDING TIME WITH YOU. I LOVE YOU AND CAN’T GET TIRED OF YOU. THERE IS NOTHING TOO BIG OR ANYTHING TOO SMALL FOR US TO DISCUSS. IN FACT WE DONT EVEN HAVE TO DISCUSS ANYTHING. WE CAN JUST BE. JUST ENJOY EACH OTHERS COMPANY. I LIKE THAT”. Isn’t it sweet what He said? Can you picture us sitting together?

Comment please, how you feel about starting to two-way journal for yourself for the first time or if this is your experience also and how you learned, so others can have your testimony too. Thanks for reading.

20130307-103336.jpg

I welcome your comment...

